A LANNISTER ALWAYS PAYS HIS DEBTS

Sergey Kalinin

16.03.2016 – 29.03.2016

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

In his project Moscow-based artist Sergey Kalinin addresses TV series — the main cultural passion of our age. Through his matchless picturesque talent he shows what is concealed in them. In his chosen detail of The Game of Thrones, True Detective, Sherlock, Breaking bad the depth of meaning for which we intuitively love these stories, is made clear.

 

Things that the audience doesn’t notice, fascinated by the plot, — the artist shows as symbolic. Every moment reseen by Kalinin turns into philosophy, politics and art history. The way he paints can create an illusion of "previously unseen classic’s masterpiece". You can assume that it is Caravaggio — but that is Ramsay Snow torturing Theon Greyjoy.

 

The artist is interested in specifics of national, territorial view. For him Sherlock is not just a detective, but the impersonation of "britishness". When Sherlock and his brother, high ranked employee of the ministry, hide cigarettes from their mother like children — it reminds of Monty Python with its The Ministry of Silly Walks. Though we can see what they have hidden — and in Kalinin’s project the true detective is the viewer, exploring the paths of cultural associations. Two bottles of pills from Pharmacological Duel of Holmes — is simultaneously Damien Hirst with his project about medicine as a new religion, and Francis Bacon with his figures in transparent cells, and the key moment of The Matrix, when you have to choose — whether you remain as a "source of power" for a deceitful system, or quit to live with an awful truth.

 

In each of the artistic cycles there is a dominating genre, which exposes the character of the show. In The Game of Thrones it is a nature morte: we see flesh, blood, people cropped like torsos — same meat. There is property, possessing objects, even people — nothing but objects, tools used to reach a goal. In True Detective it is a landscape, shown as a road movie, typical American Cinematic genre. Action takes place engulfing the human, destroying him, — and peaceful scenery hides its implication to tragedy, like in Blow-up by Antonioni.

exhibition partner:

Amediateka_logo-220x87.png

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

подпишитесь на рассылку

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный

ЛАННИСТЕРЫ ВСЕГДА ПЛАТЯТ СВОИ ДОЛГИ

Сергей Калинин

16.03.2016 – 29.03.2016

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

Сергей Калинин в своем проекте обращается к сериалам — главной культурной страсти нашего времени. Он показывает скрытое в них через свое непревзойденное мастерство живописца. В избранных им деталях «Игры престолов», «Настоящего детектива», «Шерлока», «Во все тяжкие» становится понятной вся глубина смыслов, за которую мы интуитивно и любим эти истории.

 

То, что зритель не замечает, увлеченный развитием сюжета, — художник выявляет как символическое. Каждый момент, пересмотренный Калининым, становится философией, политикой и историей искусства. Он пишет так, что может создать иллюзию «неизвестного ранее произведения классика». Можно подумать, что это Караваджо — а это Рамси Сноу пытает Теона Грейджоя.

 

Художнику интересна специфика национального, территориального зрения. 

«Шерлок» для него не только детектив, но воплощение «английского». Когда Шерлок и его брат, высокопоставленный работник министерства, прячут сигареты от своей мамы, как дети — это напоминает «Монти Пайтон» с его «министерством дурацкой походки». Но мы-то видим, что они спрятали, — и в проекте Калинина настоящим детективом становится зритель, исследующий цепочки культурных ассоциаций. Два пузырька с таблетками из «фармакологической дуэли» Холмса — это одновременно и Дэмиен Хёрст с проектом о медицине как новой религии, и Фрэнсис Бэкон с его фигурами в прозрачных клетках, и ключевой момент «Матрицы», когда нужно выбирать — остаться «источником питания» для лживой системы, или выйти из нее и жить с отвратительной правдой.

 

В каждом из живописных циклов есть свой доминирующий жанр, который проявляет характер сериала. В «Игре престолов» это натюрморт: мы видим плоть, кровь, люди кадрированы как торсы — тоже мясо. Там собственность, обладание предметами, да и сами люди — не более чем вещи, инструменты для достижения цели. В «Настоящем детективе» это пейзаж, проявленный как роуд-муви, типично американский киножанр. Место действия поглощает человека, словно уничтожает его, — и мирные виды скрывают свою причастность к трагедии, как в фильме «Фотоувеличение» Антониони.

партнер выставки:

Amediateka_logo-220x87.png