BEHIND THE WALL

Anton Kuznetsov

06.03.2020 – ∞

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

curator

Sofiya Kovaleva

Triumph Gallery presents Anton Kuznetsov's personal exhibition Behind the Wall.  Through his works, Anton explores the conflict between artistic realism and factfulness. His works often integrate the ordinary and the surrealistic, and refer not so much to the Soviet propaganda posters but to the artists of the Leipzig school.

 

His new series is dedicated to privacy. The protagonist of Kuznetsov’s paintings is a neighbor who bears a slight resemblance to a certain retired German dictator. His strange behaviors invite secret surveillance, so it is no longer as clear cut who is stranger in this case: the object of observation or the observer himself.

 

Anton Kuznetsov: "This story grew out of old photographic chronicles, war memoires, ghosts of the past. The premise is that there’s a strange neighbor resembling someone. Upon a closer look, you realize the neighbor looks like Adolf. In informal photographs, he does not look like a dictator or an evil monster but like an ordinary retiree. It's hard to believe that so much blood is on his hands. This is the starting point for the story: what if Adolf escaped not to Argentina but to the Soviet Union and lives out a life of an ordinary pensioner in in a khrushchevka. I act as a nosy neighbor who collects evidence to support of my suspicions, and commit them to paintings. This investigation is ridden with speculation, and the exhibition is a collection of these assumptions and hypotheses."

 

But an observer can always be subject to surveillance, too, especially when it comes to neighbors. It is anybody’s guess what kind of person lives next to you; we can only catch glances through the door peephole, listen in on the conversation through the wall. There's a mystery, an anxious concern that drives this interest to the self-similar. Ignorance begets paranoid thoughts. There emerge on the canvases strange alien and sometimes fantastic elements, that may be similar to embryos or extraterrestrials. They are also embedded as bright spots into the run-of-the-mill interior of a typical apartment, and they exist there as an absolutely originality.

catalogue

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

ЗА СТЕНОЙ

Антон Кузнецов

06.03.2020 – 05.04.2020

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

куратор

София Ковалева

Галерея «Триумф» представляет персональную выставку Антона Кузнецова «За стеной». В своих работах Антон исследует конфликт между художественным реализмом и достоверностью. Его работы нередко сочетают в себе обыденное и сюрреалистическое, и отсылают зрителя не то к пропагандистским советским плакатам, не то к работам художников лейпцигской школы.

 

Серия новых работ художника посвящена частной жизни. Герой картин Кузнецова — сосед, отдаленно напоминающий немецкого диктатора на пенсии. Его странное поведение провоцирует на тайное наблюдение, и уже непонятно, кто здесь более странен: объект наблюдения или сам наблюдатель.

Антон Кузнецов: «Эта история выросла из старых хроник-фотографий, воспоминаний о войне, призраков прошлого. Основной сюжет этой серии работ — странный сосед, который кого-то напоминает. Приглядываясь, ты понимаешь, что он напоминает Адольфа. На неформальных фотографиях он выглядит не как диктатор и злобное чудовище, а как обычный пенсионер. Трудно поверить, что на нем смерти огромного количества людей. Из этого рождается история — что если Адольф сбежал не в Аргентину, а живет жизнью обычного пенсионера в обычной советской хрущёвке. Я выступаю в роли любопытного соседа, который собирает доказательства своих подозрений и рисует их. Это расследование с домыслами, и выставка представляет собой собрание этих догадок и гипотез».

 

Но и наблюдатель всегда может стать объектом слежки, особенно если речь идет о соседстве. Мы можем только догадываться о том, что за человек живет рядом: подглядывать в дверной глазок, услышать разговор за стеной. Интерес к себе подобному вызывает некая тайна, а иногда тревожное опасение. Незнание порождает параноидальные мысли. На холстах художника в одном небольшом пространстве размещены армии солдат, города, планы захвата и даже возникают странные инородные, порой фантастические элементы, похожие на эмбрионов. Они же вписаны яркими пятнами в посредственный интерьер типовой квартиры и существуют там абсолютно самобытно.

каталог

подпишитесь на рассылку

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный