CODE 404

Recycle Group

08.09.2016 – 25.09.2016

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

Triumph Gallery is proud to present the exhibition Code 404 by Recycle Group (Andrey Blokhin and Georgy Kuznetsov), dedicated to human life in the age of the Internet and the appearance of new gadgets. The title of the exhibition is a reference to one of the most frequent error messages that every Internet user encounters.

 

In the works by Recycle Group, elements of virtual reality, which have become part and parcel of everyday life, acquire the significance of monuments of our era. The icons for Wi-Fi and for popular applications, rules on using social networks, and other tokens from the world of the Internet and smart phones, which have assumed almost sacred significance for their users, are immortalized by the artists in sculptures and large-scale reliefs.

 

Combining different media, Recycle Group reinvent the classical heritage and the past as such. Using recycled industrial materials, which bring to mind traditional basalt and marble, the artists emphasize the cyclical nature of history.

 

A key role in the exhibition will be played by a robot — a specially-designed device to show photographs. The robot’s mechanical arm arbitrarily retrieves pages bearing images of wild natural landscapes (the photographs were taken in Iceland during a recent trip by the artists). If you take a closer look at the folds of the magma, you can discern the outlines of icons of popular applications. They have been transformed into messages addressed to supreme intelligence after the manner of the famous Nazca Lines in Peru. A series of Basalt Rocks and the Luxor Antenna — a sculpture in the form of an Egyptian obelisk dotted with digital hieroglyphs — will also be displayed at the exhibition.

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

подпишитесь на рассылку

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный

CODE 404

Recycle Group

08.09.2016 – 25.09.2016

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

Галерея «Триумф» представляет выставку Code 404 Recycle Group (Андрей Блохин и Георгий Кузнецов), посвященную жизни человека в эпоху развития Интернета и появления новых гаджетов. Название выставки отсылает к одной из самых частых ошибок, с которой сталкивается каждый пользователь сети.

В работах Recycle Group элементы виртуальной реальности, ставшие частью повседневной жизни, приобретают значение памятников нашей эпохи. Иконки wi-fi и популярных приложений, правила пользования социальными сетями и другие знаки из мира Интернета и смартфонов, которые обладают почти сакральным значением для своих пользователей, художники увековечивают в виде скульптур и масштабных рельефов.

Комбинируя различные медиа, Recycle Group переосмысляют классическое наследие и прошлое как таковое. Используя перерабатываемые индустриальные материалы, напоминающие традиционные базальт и мрамор, художники подчеркивают цикличность истории.

Ключевое место в выставке займет робот — специально сконструированное устройство для демонстрации фотографий. Механическая рука в произвольном порядке достает листы с изображениями диких природных ландшафтов (фотографии были сделаны во время недавней экспедиции художников в Исландии). При более внимательном рассмотрении в складках магмы угадываются очертания иконок популярных приложений. Они превращаются в сообщения, адресованные высшему разуму, наподобие знаменитых геоглифов Наски в Перу. Кроме этого на выставке будет показана серия «Базальтовых камней» и «Антенна Луксора» — скульптура в виде египетского обелиска, испещрённая цифровыми иероглифами.