EXTENSION.AM: GEOGRAPHICAL EXPERIENCE

Group exhibition

10.04.2018 – 22.04.2018

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

curators

Kristina Romanova

Eva Khachatryan

artists

Sona Abgaryan

Vahram Aghasyan

Arevik Arevshatyan

Diana Hakobyan

Vahagn Hamalbashyan

Edgar Amroyan

Karen Barseghyan

Arman Grigoryan

Ruben Grigoryan

Garik Yengibaryan

David Kareyan

Astghik Melkonyan

Hamlet Hovsepyan

Karen Ohanyan

Arthur Sarkissian

Manan Torosyan

Grigor Khachatryan

Tigran Khachatryan

Triumph gallery presents EXTENSION.AM: Geographical Experience is an exhibition including work of eighteen contemporary artists from Armenia. The exhibition is the new installment of the EXTENSION series that showcases current art scenes from different countries. Project EXTENSION.AM: Geographical Experience is supported by Tatevik Karapetyan, the patron of arts, who is also the first vice-president at the Tashir Group.

First contemporary art exhibitions in Armenia have been held in the 1980s during "perestroika". Even behind the "iron curtain", such movements got into and taken root in Armenia as transavantgarde, pop art and abstractionism; they later affected the beginnings of the art process in the country. In the 1990s, the conditions for art became more favorable in Armenia. Emerging the art market, new educational and creative institutions have been actively promoted by the government and international expatriate community. The powerful intensity of this process manifested in establishment of the Gyumri Biennal of Contemporary Art in 1998 — the first exhibition of its class in any of the former Soviet Republics.

These developments indicated that Armenian artists have recently focused on their own culture, history, daily life and have been addressing crucial social and political issues more and more. Following this logic, EXTENSION.AM: Geographical Experience has invited only the artists who live and work in Armenia, despite the fact that the number of the Armenian Diaspora globally exceeds the population of the country almost threefold.

general partner:

opening partner:

technical partner:

partners of the educational program:

tashir2.jpg
Snimok-e`krana-2018-03-28-v-16.17.43.png
logo_mmoma.gif

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

подпишитесь на рассылку

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный

EXTENSION.AM: ГЕОГРАФИЧЕСКИЙ ОПЫТ

Групповая выставка

10.04.2018 – 22.04.2018

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

кураторы

Кристина Романова 

Ева Хачатрян

участники

Сона Абгарян

Ваграм Агасян

Аревик Аревшатян

Диана Акопян

Ваагн Амалбашян

Эдгар Амроян

Карен Барсегян

Арман Григорян

Рубен Григорян

Гарик Енгибарян

Давид Кареян

Астгик Мелконян

Гамлет Овсепян

Карен Оганян

Артур Саркисян

Манан Торосян

Григор Хачатрян

Тигран Хачатрян

Галерея «Триумф» представляет проект «EXTENSION.AM: Географический опыт», которая объединит работы восемнадцати современных художников из Армении. Выставка продолжит цикл выставок  EXTENSION, который знакомит с актуальной художественной сценой разных стран. Проект «EXTENSION.AM: Географический опыт» был создан при поддержке первого вице-президента группы компаний «Ташир», мецената Татевик Карапетян.

 

Первые выставки современного искусства в Армении состоялись в 1980-е, во времена перестройки. Несмотря на железный занавес в Армению проникли и глубоко укоренились течения трансавангарда, поп-арта и абстракционизма, которые позже послужили основой арт-процесса. В 1990-е годы в стране стали складываться благоприятные условия для развития искусства. Начал зарождаться арт-рынок, появились новые образовательные и художественные институции, активно поддерживаемые государством и международной диаспорой. О том, насколько интенсивным был этот процесс, свидетельствует появление Гюмрийской биеннале современного искусства в 1998 году — первой выставки такого формата на постсоветском пространстве.

 

В последние годы армянские художники все чаще обращаются к собственной культуре, истории, обычаям, повседневности, общественным процессам, применяя исследовательский подход и затрагивая важные социально-политические проблемы. Следуя этой логике участниками выставки «EXTENSION.AM: Географический опыт» стали только те художники, которые живут и работают в Армении, несмотря на то, что численность армянской диаспоры в мире почти втрое больше населения самой страны.

генеральный партнер:

партнер открытия:

технический партнер:

партнеры образовательной программы:

tashir2.jpg
Snimok-e`krana-2018-03-28-v-16.17.43.png
logo_mmoma.gif