subscribe to the newsletter

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

EXTENSION.LV: MEETING WITH OURSELVES

Group exhibition

21.04.2017 – 14.05.2017

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

curator

Kristina Romanova

участники

Voldemars Johansons

Roman Korovin

Daiga Krūze

Liene Mackus

Diana Tamane

Mikelis Fisers

Andris Eglitis

Kristaps Epners

Atis Jakobsons

Triumph Gallery is proud to present the fifth exhibition in the project series EXTENSION, which shows the current art scene of different countries. The exhibition EXTENSION.LV: Meeting with Ourselves will showcase works by contemporary artists from Latvia.

 

Most of the artists featured at the exhibition EXTENSION.LV have either been nominated or won the national award The Purvitis Prize. Vilhelms Purvitis is justifiably considered the founder of landscape painting at the Art Academy of Latvia and is one of the key figures in the history of Latvian culture. Founded in 2008, the prize has become a symbol of the current state of contemporary art in Latvia. It is not only a major award, but also serves as an archive presenting a picture of key artists and the directions of contemporary art in Latvia.

 

The search for identity, characteristic of so many countries in the world today, also determines to no less extent the art scene in Latvia. However, experiments on the construction of identity took place in the 1990s, and it is already possible to observe today a reflection of what has actually emerged and the search for possible ways to describe this reality. A quote from Carl Gustav Jung, which is the sub-heading of the exhibition — "the meeting with ourselves belongs to the most unpleasant things" — describes the current situation perfectly.

 

The artists, who presented at the exhibition are to a large extent united by similar professional trajectories. Almost all the artists graduated from the Art Academy of Latvia, took part in exhibitions in Latvia and abroad, were nominated or won The Purvitis Prize. At the same time the apparent homogeneity of the infrastructure unleashes different types of artistic practice aimed at the attempt to view themselves from the outside and to overcome the discomfort of the meeting with ourselves.

подпишитесь на рассылку

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный

EXTENSION.LV: ВСТРЕЧА С САМИМ СОБОЙ

Групповая выставка

21.04.2017 – 14.05.2017

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

куратор

Кристина Романова

участники

Вольдемар Йохансон

Роман Коровин

Дайга Крузе

Лиена Мацкус

Диана Тамане

Микелис Фишерс

Андрис Эглитис

Кристапс Эпнерс

Атис Якобсонс

Галерея «Триумф» представляет пятую выставку в проекте EXTENSION, который показывает актуальную художественную сцену разных стран мира. Выставка «EXTENSION.LV: Встреча с самим собой» представит современных художников Латвии.

 

Большинство художников, представленных на выставке EXTENSION.LV, хотя бы раз в жизни были номинантами или призерами национальной премии «Приз Пурвитиса» (Purvitis Prize). Вильгельма Пурвитиса по праву считают основателем пейзажной живописи в Латвийской Академии художеств и одной из ключевых фигур в истории латышской культуры. Учрежденная в 2008 году, она стала символом происходящего сегодня в мире современного искусства Латвии. Она является не только главной премией, но также и своего рода архивом, который дает представление о ключевых именах и направлениях современного искусства в Латвии.

 

Характерный для многих стран в сегодняшнем мире поиск идентичности в не меньшей степени определяет и художественную жизнь Латвии. Однако эксперименты по конструированию идентичности остались в 1990-е, и сегодня можно наблюдать уже рефлексию того, что в итоге приобрело черты реальности, и поиск возможных средств описания этой реальности. Цитата Карла Густава Юнга, ставшая подзаголовком названия выставки, — «встреча с самом собой принадлежит к самым неприятным» — как раз описывает данное состояние.

 

Представленных художников во многом объединяет схожесть профессиональных траекторий. Практически все получили образование в Латвийской Академии художеств, принимали участие в выставках в Латвии и за ее пределами, были номинантами или лауреатами «Приза Пурвитиса». При этом кажущаяся однородность инфраструктуры дает толчок для различного рода художественных практик, направленных на попытку посмотреть на себя со стороны и преодолеть неудобство встречи с собой.