subscribe to the newsletter

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

FLASHBACKS

Konstantin Danilov (Zmogk)

25.01.2019 – 17.02.2019

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

curator

Polina Mogilina

Konstantin Danilov (Zmogk) is a Russian artist who works in the genres of street art and graffiti. Since the mid-1990s, he has been developing his style, thanks to which he has become widely known among graphic artists not only in Russia but also in Europe. He actively collaborates with various brands as well as participates in exhibitions and festivals all around the world. He was one of the first to combine font graphics with abstract painting, due to which he became one of the most outstanding street artists according to the edition of Mural Masters in 2018.

The visual language of Zmogk is purely unique, and is used by the artist not only on the walls but in the studio works on canvases as well. Characteristic of him is lightness, vibrant colors, dynamism, and certain chaotic nature of the composition, referring the audience to the paintings of cubism, rayist, and, possibly, orphism. Deprived of a coherent sequential narration, his works appear as a field of collision and interaction of various fields, surfaces and forces, expressed in color and form. 

Kirill Kto, curator of the Wall project (2010–2013): "Konstantin's works invoke to delight the viewer's eye, engaging him on a journey along the wall, tracing the path from one strongly transformed 'Z' to a nonetheless twisted 'M'. He, in the shape of a pattern, covers the entire surface of the wall with a complex interweaving of zigzags and highlights, leading his words to a complete illegibility, boldly encrypting a simple message and leaving it to the viewer to find in him letters or other meanings, whilst ascertained of the author's skill, perseverance and ingenuity."

At the "Flashbacks" exhibition in the Triumph Gallery, studio sculpture and paintings, created by the artist during 2017 and 2018, will be presented. Executed in an extremely simplified, stylized manner, his paintings present as certain "internal landscapes", casts from memories that convey not the objective world of things but a transformed perception of this world into collective forms. The majority of them are connected with the artist's specific memories of his travels and personal meetings while others are more of copulation of his thoughts about global things and the ability to express himself in art. 

Polina Mogilina, curator of the exhibition: !Kostya translates an important for him message of the importance of a daily pursuit of the study of the unknown, unfamiliar. Observing the life of others, expanding personal worldview, we mature and understand ourselves more thoroughly. As we try to accept what seems to us as incomprehensible or extraneous, even, we enrich our world and strengthen the connection with others.!

catalogue

подпишитесь на рассылку

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный

FLASHBACKS

Константин Данилов (Zmogk)

25.01.2019 – 17.02.2019

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

куратор

Полина Могилина

Константин Данилов (Zmogk) — российский художник, который работает в жанрах стрит-арт и граффити. С середины 1990-х он развивает собственный стиль, благодаря чему получил широкую известность в среде графитчиков не только в России но и в Европе. Он активно сотрудничает с различными брендами, а также участвует в выставках и фестивалях по всему миру. Он одним из первых начал сочетать шрифтовую графику с абстрактной живописью, за что вошел в число выдающихся стрит артистов по версии издания Mural Masters в 2018 году. 

Визуальный язык Zmogk универсален, и применяется художником не только на стенах, но и в студийных работах на холстах. Для него характерны легкость, яркие цвета, динамичность и некая хаотичность композиции, отсылающие зрителя к живописи кубизма, лучизма и, возможно, орфизма. Лишенные связного последовательного повествования, его работы представляют собой поле столкновения и взаимодействия различных сред, поверхностей и сил, выраженных в цвете и форме.

Кирилл Кто, куратор проекта Стена (2010 -2013): «Работы Константина призваны радовать глаз зрителя, вовлекая его в путешествие по стене, прослеживая путь от одной сильно трансформированной «Z» к другой не менее закрученной «M». Он в виде паттерна покрывает всю поверхность стены сложным переплетением зигзагов и бликов, сводя свои буквы к полной нечитаемости, лихо зашифровывая простое послание и оставляя зрителю самому возможность найти в нём буквы или другие смыслы, попутно убедившись в мастерстве, упорстве и изобретательности автора».

На выставке “Flashbacks” в галерее “Триумф” будут представлены студийные скульптуры и живопись, созданные художником за 2017 – 2018 гг. Выполненные в предельно упрощённой, стилизованной манере, его картины представляют собой своеобразные «внутренние пейзажи», слепки с воспоминаний, передающие не объективный мир вещей, а трансформированное восприятие этого мира в собирательные образы. Большинство из них связаны с конкретными воспоминаниями художника о путешествиях и личных встречах, другие – скорее плод его размышлений о глобальных вещах и возможности выразить себя в искусстве.

Полина Могилина, куратор выставки: «Костя транслирует важную для него мысль о необходимости ежедневного стремления к исследованию неизведанного, незнакомого. Наблюдая за жизнью других, расширяя собственное мировоззрение, мы взрослеем и лучше понимаем себя. Пытаясь принять то, что кажется нам непонятным или даже чуждым, мы делаем свой собственный мир богаче, а связь с окружающим крепче».