FUTURE LAB. KINETIC ART IN RUSSIA

Group exhibition

26.01.2021 – 10.05.2021

State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow

сurator

Yulia Aksenova 

сo-curators

Anna Koleichuk

Andrey Smirnov

In collaboration with Manege Central Exhibition Hall the State Tretyakov Gallery presents a major exhibition entitled Future Lab. Kinetic Art in Russia.  It is dedicated to kineticism, one of the most significant movements in modern art. The exhibition provides visitors with the opportunity to experience a vast panorama detailing the development of kineticism in Russia in the 1960s–70s and its links to both the avant-garde experimentalism of the beginning of the 20th century, and artistic practices today.

 

The theme of transformation lies at the heart of kinetic art, both as an artistic form, and in the very process of perception. Mobility, mutability and volatility are the hallmarks of dynamic compositions, which transform through mechanics or visual effects. Kineticism was a post-war phenomenon which emerged simultaneously in several regions across the world. Much of its focus was on the rehabilitation of technological progress and the rise of the information society.

 

Much like their scientific avant-garde peers, the kineticists invented visual data transmission systems, conducted research in the field of visual thinking, and experimented with the latest technologies and materials. Themes such as the polysensory nature of perception, the algorithmisation of the creative process, procedure, interactivity, and virtuality all defined the artistic agenda of the period.

 

The artists not only sought out new ways by which to embody their concepts, but also expanded their reach to fields such as design, architecture, urban planning, and shaping the surrounding environment.

 

Consequently, kineticism is more than just a page in the history of art — it was a laboratory for artists to create alternate versions of reality, as well as of the future which we inhabit today. A great deal of what was once viewed as an artistic experiment is now part and parcel of our everyday lives.

 

The project at the State Tretyakov Gallery will feature works by famous kinetic artists who set the scene for kinetic art in the 60s and 70s. It will also feature these artists’ predecessors, major artists of the early 20th century Russian avant-garde, as well as modern artists. The exhibition is comprised of four sections: Vision Lab, Art Metrics Lab, Environment Lab and Synesthesia Lab.

 

The exhibition will include a variety of forms and genres that constitute kinetic art: mobiles, self-stressed structures, transforming sculptures, optical paintings, graphics, collage, photography, video projects, sound and light installations, and interactive objects — about 400 exhibits in total.

ЛАБОРАТОРИЯ БУДУЩЕГО. КИНЕТИЧЕСКОЕ ИСКУССТВО В РОССИИ

Групповая выставка

26.01.2021 – 10.05.2021

Государственная Третьяковская галерея на Крымском валу, Москва

куратор

Юлия Аксенова

со-кураторы

Анна Колейчук

Андрей Смирнов, Наталья Сидорова

Государственная Третьяковская галерея совместно с ЦВЗ «Манеж» представляют выставочный проект «Лаборатория Будущего. Кинетическое искусство в России», посвященный одному из самых значимых направлений в современном искусстве — кинетизму. Экспозиция показывает широкую панораму развития кинетизма в России в 60–70-х годах, прослеживая его связь с авангардистскими экспериментами начала века и художественными практиками современности. 

 

В основе кинетического искусства лежит идея трансформации как художественной формы, так и самого процесса восприятия. Подвижность, изменчивость, нестабильность — определяющие качества для динамических произведений, преобразование которых происходит с помощью механических сил или визуальных эффектов. Возникнув одновременно в различных регионах мира в послевоенную эпоху, кинетизм был во многом связан с идеей реабилитации технического прогресса и формированием информационного общества.

 

Наравне с научным авангардом художники-кинеты изобретали визуальные системы передачи информации, исследовали особенности образного мышления, экспериментировали с новейшими технологиями и материалами. Такие вопросы, как полисенсорность восприятия, алгоритмизация творческого процесса, процессуальность, интерактивность, виртуальность, определяли актуальную художественную проблематику того времени. 

 

Художники не только искали новые формы воплощения своих творческих замыслов, но и реализовывали их в сфере дизайна, архитектуры, градостроительства, организации окружающей среды. 

 

Таким образом, кинетизм являлся не просто направлением в истории искусства, но и своеобразной лабораторией, где художники генерировали альтернативные версии реальности и того будущего, в котором мы сегодня оказались. То, что когда-то виделось художественным экспериментом, во многом является частью нашей повседневной жизни.

 

На выставке  представлены работы известных художников-кинетов, создавших основной комплекс произведений в 60–70-х годах, и их предшественников — главных представителей русского авангарда начала XX века, а также современных авторов. Выставочный проект состоит из четырех тематических разделов: «Лаборатория зрения», «Лаборатория искусствометрии», «Лаборатория среды» и «Лаборатория синестезии». 

 

Экспозиция включает в себя все разнообразие форм и жанров кинетического искусства: мобили, самонапряженные конструкции, трансформирующиеся скульптуры, оптическую живопись, графику, коллаж, фотографию, видеопроекции, звуковые и световые инсталляции, интерактивные объекты — всего около 400 экспонатов.