ISLAND

Eva Helki

16.10.2020 – 15.11.2020

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

curator

Sofia Kovaleva

Triumph gallery presents the first solo show by artist from St. Petersburg Eva Helki. The exhibition is organized as part of the Launchpad program run by the gallery for support of young art.

 

Eva Helki uses a wide range of techniques, some of which are presented in her paintings and installations at the exhibition. The artists’ work reimagines mythological narratives and projects them onto present-day reality. The characters in Eva’s work are her friends, and the paintings are set on Vasilevskiy Island where the artist lives.

 

The aesthetic of Eva’s works is closer to reverent attention, which she pays to metamorphoses as a process, rather than to another restatement of timeless values that have been expressed through myth. The artist tends to show instances of incomplete transformation, as if oscillating between the past and the future, between understatement and finality, beginning and end.

 

This desire to capture the metamorphose itself finds manifestation in Eva’s medium of choice: in her paintings on plywood, the foreground and background overlay to form something in between a canvas and an assemblage. This two-fold effect is aided by introduction of other materials as well: mirrors, plexiglass, tempera. The setting and context for these works can thus be easily changed and rearranged; the characters are then untethered from any specific topos—the only important thing is what is happening with them.

 

In Eva’s work the mimetic is intertwined with the mystical, and the personal with the mythical. Together, these opposites form the world of the multiple archetypes that survive from other eras and roam among us. This world is its own projection onto Vasilevskiy Island, a utopian island of the blessed where the people in paintings are frozen still, sheer moments before their metamorphose is finally complete.

 

Advance booking required to visit the exhibition, please proceed to the gallery’s official website.

Then select the date and time that suit you best. Note that the number of visitors is limited. For your convenience, book the visit ahead of time. You can cancel your booking at info@truimph-gallery.ru or +7 (495) 162-08-93.

catalog

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

ОСТРОВ

Ева Хелки

16.10.2020 – 15.11.2020

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

куратор

София Ковалева

Галерея «Триумф» представляет первую персональную выставку петербургской художницы Евы Хелки. Выставка пройдет в рамках программы Launchpad, организованной галереей для поддержки молодого искусства.

 

Ева Хелки работает в широком спектре техник, часть из которых представлена на выставке в ее живописных работах и инсталляциях. В своих работах художница перерабатывает древние мифологические сюжеты и проецирует их на современную реальность. Героями ее работ становятся близкие Еве люди, а действие в картинах происходит на Васильевском острове — там, где живет художница.

 

Эстетика, которую создает Ева в своих произведениях, близка скорее не к пересказу вечных ценностей, выраженных в мифах, а к трепетному вниманию, уделяемому самой метаморфозе как процессу. Художнице интересно изображать неоконченное превращение, которое будто бы осциллирует между прошлым и будущим, между недосказанностью и завершенностью.

 

Желание зафиксировать саму метаморфозу выражается в выбранной Евой технике, при которой в пространстве работы, выполненной на фанерных листах, передний и задний планы накладываются друг на друга и образуют что-то среднее между картиной и ассамбляжем. Этот двойственный эффект достигается за счет использования и других материалов: зеркал, оргстекла, метала, темперы. Фон и контекст этих произведений потому могут легко меняться и подвергаться перестановке, а герои картины оказываются лишенными привязки к какому-либо топосу — важно лишь то, что с ними происходит.

 

В работах Евы миметическое переплетается с мистическим, а личное — с мифическим. И вместе эти противоположности образуют мир множества странствующих среди нас архетипов, дошедших из других эпох. Он оказывается собственной проекцией художницы на Васильевский остров, утопический остров блаженных, в котором персонажи с картин застыли за несколько мгновений до того, как их метаморфоза наконец осуществится.

 

Для посещения выставки необходима регистрация, которая доступна на сайте галереи.

 

Выберите удобные день и время посещения выставки. Обратите внимание, что количество мест ограничено. Планируйте свой визит заранее. Вы можете отменить свой визит, написав нам на почту info@truimph-gallery.ru или по телефону +7 (495) 162-08-93.

каталог

подпишитесь на рассылку

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный