JAMEEL PRIZE 3

Group exhibition

11.10.2014 – 23.11.2014

Moscow State Exhibition Hall ‘New Manege’

www.moscowmanege.ru

curators

Tim Stanley

Salma Tuqan

artists

Dice Kayek

Faig Ahmed

Nada Debs

Mounir Fatmi

Rahul Jain

Waqas Khan

Laurent Mareschal

Nasser Al Salem

Florie Salnot

Pascal Zoghbi

The Moscow State Exhibition Hall "New Manege" with the support of Triumph gallery will present a major exhibition representing the shortlisted artists of a prestigious international competition: the Jameel Prize 3. The exhibition will feature over 20 works of 10 artists and designers from all over the world: Azerbaijan, India, Lebanon, Morocco, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and France. The Exhibition is organized by the Victoria and Albert Museum London (V&A) in partnership with Art Jameel.

 

The artworks are shown in Moscow for the first time and are diverse in their style: unique Arabic calligraphy and typography, a tile work floor re-created in spices, dresses inspired by the architecture and ornaments of Hagia Sophia in Istanbul, as well as video and miniatures.  All these art objects are original and stylistically executed in various techniques and were made by contemporary artists and designers.

 

The winners of the Jameel Prize 3 are, Dice Kayek.  The finalists that will be presented are: Faig Ahmed, Nada Debs,  Mounir Fatmi,  Rahul Jain, Waqas Khan, Laurent Mareschal,  Nasser Al Salem, Florie Salnot and Pascal Zoghbi.

 

The Prize, founded in partnership with Art Jameel, was conceived after the renovation of the V&A’s Jameel Gallery of Islamic Art, which opened in July 2006 to present the rich artistic heritage of the Islamic world. The prize aims to raise awareness of the thriving interaction between contemporary practice and this great historical heritage and to broaden understanding of Islamic culture and its place in the world.

 

Award-winning architect Dame Zaha Hadid is Patron of the Jameel Prize. The judges were: Thomas Heatherwick, designer and founder of Heatherwick Studio; Rashid Koraïchi, winner of the Jameel Prize 2; Martin Roth, V&A Director; Nada Shabout, Associate Professor of Art History and the Director of the Contemporary Arab and Muslim Cultural Studies Institute at the University of North Texas, USA; and Huda Smitshuijzen AbiFarès, Founding Director of the Khatt Foundation, Center for Arabic Typography.

 

Tim Stanley, senior curator for the V&A’s Middle Eastern collection, with Salma Tuqan, the V&A’s curator of Middle Eastern contemporary art and design, are the curators of the Jameel Prize 3 exhibition.

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

ПРЕМИЯ ДЖАМИЛЬ 3

Групповая выставка

11.10.2014 – 23.11.2014

Новый Манеж, Москва

www.moscowmanege.ru

кураторы

Тим Стенли

Салма Тукан

участники

Dice Kayek

Фаиг Ахмед

Нада Дебс

Рауль Джейн

Паскаль Зогхби  

Нассер Аль Салем

Флори Сално

Лоран Марешаль

Мунир Фатми

Вакас Хан 

В МГВЗ «Новый Манеж» при поддержке галереи «Триумф» открывается выставка победителей и финалистов престижного международного конкурса «Премия Джамиль 3» (Jameel Prize 3). В экспозиции будут представлены более 20 работ десяти художников и дизайнеров из разных стран мира: Азербайджана, Индии, Ливана, Марокко, Пакистана, Саудовской Аравии, Турции и Франции. Выставка организована в сотрудничестве с Музеем Виктории и Альберта (V&A), Лондон, при поддержке Art Jameel.

 

Впервые привезённые в Москву произведения современного искусства удивляют художественным разнообразием. В залах Нового Манежа будут представлены: неповторимая арабская каллиграфия и типографика, собранная из специй мозаичная напольная плитка, платья, дизайн которых был вдохновлён орнаментами и архитектурой собора Святой Софии в Стамбуле, а также видео и миниатюры. Все эти произведения уникальны, созданы известными современными авторами в различных техниках.

 

Конкурс «Премия Джамиль», учреждённый в партнёрстве с Art Jameel, был задуман после реконструкции Зала исламского искусства V&A, который открылся в июле 2006 года для того, чтобы показать богатое культурное наследие исламского мира. Главной целью конкурса стало установление диалога между визуальными традициями ислама, представленными в экспозиции, и современной культурой, расширение представления об исламском искусстве и его месте в мире.

 

«Премия Джамиль» проходит под патронажем одного из самых авторитетных архитекторов в мире Захи Хадид (Zaha Hadid). Членами жюри «Премии Джамиль 3» стали: Томас Хизервик (Thomas Heatherwick, дизайнер и владелец студии «Heatherwick Studio»), Рашид Корайчи (Rashid Koraichi, лауреат «Премии Джамиль 2»), Мартин Рот (Martin Roth, Директор Музея Виктории и Альберта), Нада Шабут (Nada Shabout, профессор истории искусств и директор Института исследования современной арабской и мусульманской культуры при Университете Северного Техаса (University of North Texas)) и Худа Смитшуйджен Абифаре (Huda Smitshuijzen AbiFarès, основатель фонда «Khatt Foundation»).

 

Кураторами «Премии Джамиль 3» являются: Тим Стенли, главный куратор отдела Ближнего Востока, и Салма Тукан, куратор отдела Современного искусства и дизайна Ближнего Востока Музея Виктории и Альберта, Лондон (V&A).

подпишитесь на рассылку

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный