KRESTY

Marina Fedorova

01.08.2014 – 31.08.2014

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

Marina Fedorova was born in former Leningrad in 1981. In 2000 she graduated from the the Saint Petersburg Art School named after Nicholas Roerich and in 2006 she finished her studies at the Academy of Fine arts named after Vera Mukhina in St. Petersburg. The artist will be presenting her new show, which has the same name as a prison in St. Petersburg, at Triumph Gallery. In this show she explores the life of people sentenced to imprisonment.

 

Inside the walls of the two blocks of the infamous prison, both shaped like a cross (that is where the name came from) were held revolutionaries and traitors, common people and marshals, with no regard to their rank or status. A cross, which is a symbol of martyrdom, in this context also serves as a sign of detachment. In Marina’s works this sign duplicates itself in the lines on prisoners’ hands, creases on the bed, branches of trees and crossings of the iron bars.

 

Marina Fedorova’s project starts with the stories of four women — the mother, the wife, the mistress and the sister, who can’t get their mins off the men who had left them to be imprisonedinthe notorious jail. Starting with personal stories the artist then passes on to exploring the everyday life of the prison dwellers. Besides paintings the artist will present a video, which was filmed inside the Kresty prison. This video shows the everyday interaction between the inmates, wardens and the place itself.

 

Project Kresty is made by Art Club D137 on the initiative of Olga Osterberg and Board of Trustees of the Detention Center No. 1 Kresty in St. Petersburg.

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

КРЕСТЫ

Марина Федорова

01.08.2014 – 31.08.2014

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

Марина Федорова (р. 1981 г., Ленинград) в 2000-м году окончила СПбХУ им. Н.К. Рериха. В 2006-м – СПбХПА им. Барона Штиглица (Мухиной) по специализации художник-график. В галерее «Триумф» художница представит выставку, названную по имени петербургской тюрьмы, в которой она рассказывает о жизни людей, находящихся в заключении.

В стенах двух корпусов известной тюрьмы, каждый из которых выстроен в форме равноконечного креста (отсюда и название) в разное время в заключении находились революционеры и предатели, простые люди и маршалы, независимо от ранга или статуса. Крест – символ мученичества – в данном контексте выступает и как знак разделения. В работах Марины Федоровой этот символ дублируется в линиях на руке заключенных, складках постели, ветвях деревьев, пересечениях прутьев решеток.

Проект Марины Федоровой начинается с истории четырех женщин – матери, жены, любовницы и сестры, – чьи мысли устремлены вслед покинувшим их мужчинам, заточенным в самой известной питерской тюрьме. От личных историй художница переходит к фиксированию будничных сцен обитателей тюрьмы. Помимо живописных работ в выставку также войдет видео, снятое в «Крестах», представляющее наблюдение за заключенными и надзирателями – их повседневным взаимодействием с местом и друг с другом.

Проект “Кресты” реализован Арт Клубом Д137 по инициативе Ольги Остерберг и Попечительского Совета следственного изолятора №1 «Кресты» в Санкт-Петербурге и будет впервые показан в Москве в рамке персональной выставки.

подпишитесь на рассылку

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный