NOTAPHILY

Andrey Lev

29.05.2015 – 14.06.2015

 

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

Visually, a banknote is not an abstract or figurative image. Paper money comes laden with hidden signs (such as the watermark), different signal elements, while at the same time it depicts landscapes, architectureand portraits of world leaders. . A banknote per se is a visual epic poem, combining in its minute format historical, geographical, cultural, anthropological and social aspects.

 

This is the very narrative that Andrei Lev covers in his new project Notaphily. His works are based on the emblem of paper money, the ironic pop art approaches and pop culture cliches. Executed in the inimitable original style of the artist, the works remind of the plates used to print money.

 

The uniformity of the image intrinsic in real money (the recurring plant and animal motifs, the monochrome palette, the structure) is presented here as an approach. All the various conceptual semantics of money are embodied in the form of references to made up toponyms — Banknote of the State of the Petrol River; or attempts to demonstrate another dimension of the Unknown Dollar; or represent allusions to the subject of Conan Doyle's short story The Adventure of the Speckled Band.

 

Andrey Lev says: "Human culture often demonises money and idealises creativity. There may well be compelling reasons for this. However, the magical power of art, just like the magical power of money, can be used for different purposes. I rehabilitate money in the eyes of the muse and transform it into "the cash that conquers evil". Money is, like libido, a driving force of our civilisation. And if one can wax poetically about libido, calling it love, why can’t we do the same thing with the desire for money?"

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

НОТАФИЛИЯ

Андрей Лев

29.05.2015 – 14.06.2015

 

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

С визуальной точки зрения денежная банкнота не является абстрактным или предметным изображением. Бумажные деньги несут в себе скрытые (например, водяные) знаки, разные сигнальные элементы, и в то же время на них изображаются пейзажи, архитектурные мотивы и портреты лидеров разных стран. Банкнота сама по себе является визуальным эпосом, объединяющим в своем крошечном формате, исторические, географические, культурологические, антропологические и социальные аспекты.

Именно к такому нарративу обращается Андрей Лев в своем новом проекте «Нотофилия». Его работы замешаны на эмблематике бумажных денег, ироничных приемах поп-арта, и штампах масс-культуры. Выполненные в оригинальной авторской манере, работы напоминают клише для печати денег. 

Монотонность изображения, свойственная реальным деньгам (повторяющиеся растительные и звериные мотивы, монохромность, структура), здесь возводится в прием. Вся пестрая смысловая семантика денег воплощается в форме привязок к выдуманным топонимам – «Банкнота государства бензиновой реки»; или попыткам демонстрации иного измерения «Неизвестного доллара»; или в обращении к теме из романа Конан Дойла «Пестрая лента». 

Андрей Лев: «Человеческая культура часто демонизирует деньги и идеализирует творчество. Возможно, что для этого есть веские причины, но волшебная сила искусства, также как и волшебная сила денег, может быть использована с разными целями. Я реабилитирую деньги в глазах муз и делаю «бабло, которое победит зло». Деньги, как и либидо являются мотором нашей цивилизации. И если можно поэтизировать либидо, называя его любовью, то почему бы не сделать то же самое с желанием обладать деньгами?»

подпишитесь на рассылку

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный