subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

TERMITARIES

Dmitry Bulnygin

12.02.2016 – 17.03.2016

Central Exhibition Hall "Manege", Moscow

www.moscowmanege.ru

Termites are the first animals to have mastered the construction of "buildings" 200 million years ago. The biogenic structures of termitaries, made of sand and saliva parched by the sun, resemble the shapes of hills, mountains or chimneys. This world relies on agglomerated structures stronger than concrete.

 

Employing the medium of video associated with sculpture, the artist Dmitri Bulnygin refers to this type of housing, the termitary, to explore its organic forms as well as the universe of termites as a whole to further apply the principle of termite mounds to Moscow architecture. The artist brings in video sculptures of Termitaries amid the constructive and ornamental excesses of Moscow's eclectic architecture, using a selection of existing buildings constructed since the 1930s and up to the present day. The result is compact architecture, which resembles a pudding or a stalagmite at times.

 

The artist reinterprets the aesthetic language of housing, from the ornament of pompous academic styles to an improvised yurt between two chairs. The material of the cover serves as the medium to project the video of city lights on Termitaries. Here the picturesque landscape adjoins with temporary shelter.

 

The folds of cloth drape the structure, or what has to be hidden, for protection (either of the construction or ourselves) from unnecessary glances or frost. This cover belongs in the middle zone between what is hidden and what remains open, between the space of life and ruins. The folded shrinking termitaries convey the idea of the universal reduction. The change of scale creates an association with an empty or opening cocoon and fossil residues bearing an imprint of organic life.

подпишитесь на рассылку

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный

ТЕРМИТНИКИ

Дмитрий Булныгин

12.02.2016 – 17.03.2016

Центральный Манеж, Москва

www.moscowmanege.ru

Термиты – первые живые существа на Земле, которые начали строить «здания» 200 миллионов лет назад. Их биогенные структуры, созданные из слюны и песка и высохшие на солнце, напоминают холмы или каминные трубы. Этот мир покоится на спрессованных структурах, более прочных, чем бетон.

 

Дмитрий Булныгин через медиум видео, ассоциированный со скульптурой, обращаясь к типологии жилья термитов, интересуется его органичными формами так же, как и существованием их мира: он применяет принципы термитника к московской архитектуре. Среди архитектурных и орнаментальных излишеств в эклектичном образе Москвы художник создает видео скульптуры — «термитники», используя выборку современных зданий, строившихся в период с 1930-х годов до наших дней. Результатом становится компактная архитектура, иногда напоминающая сталагмит, а иногда — что-то наподобие пудинга.

 

Художник пересматривает эстетический язык жилища, от помпезных академических орнаментов — к импровизированной юрте, устроенной между двумя стульями. Поверхность баннера выступает в качестве медиума для переноса видео городских огней на «термитники». Тогда живописный пейзаж и временное убежище соседствуют друг с другом.

Складкой ткани мы драпируем сооружение — то, что должно быть спрятано, — чтобы защитить (его или себя) от посторонних глаз или заморозков. Так, эта обертка оказывается в промежуточной зоне между утаянным и раскрытым, между жильем и руинами. Складчатые, усыхающие термитники сообщают о редукции мира. Изменение масштаба создает образ пустого или разрывающегося кокона, окаменелости или ископаемого, несущего в себе отпечаток органического.