subscribe to the newsletter

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

THE PATH

Feodor Elizarov

16.11.2019 – 15.12.2019

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

curator

Alex Korsi

Triumph Gallery presents an exhibition by Moscow artist Feodor Elizarov featuring canvases painted over the recent years in the French Calanques National Park. Born into a famous dynasty of artists and a graduate of the Surikov Institute, Feodor Elizarov works in the traditional painting genre. The artist uses an analytical approach to imagery and unconventional exposition solutions to reinvent this genre for the modern viewer.

 

The set of works, inspired by the pristine and mythological beauty of the French Riviera, can be attributed to the traditional landscape genre. Rendered with craftsman’s precision, the path from the artist's studio to the shore is a reference to the paintings of German romantics and the golden age of French painting. Elizarov, however, by replicating the motif of the path in his works, not quite merely admires it but rather reveals the formative mechanics of the visual perception by the artist.

 

Through recursion he highlights the spatial relationships within the painting, thus going beyond techniques and revealing the technology of painting.

 

Alex Korsi, the curator: "Respectful craftsmanship, professional repertoire of artistic skills, formal accuracy — can all enable new freedoms of artistic expression. Reintroducing issues of painting into the artistic territory, the artist then can actualize in this space shielded against superficial borrowing by the market. After all, there is nothing more challenging than to copy a good painting — this will mean creating another good painting."

catalogue

подпишитесь на рассылку

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный

ТРОПА

Феодор Елизаров

16.11.2019 — 15.12.2019

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

куратор

Алекс Корси

Галерея «Триумф» представляет выставку московского художника Феодора Елизарова, в которую войдут живописные работы, написанные им в национальном природном парке Каланки (Франция) в течение последних лет. Выпускник Института имени Сурикова, продолжатель знаменитой династии художников, Феодор Елизаров работает в традиционном живописном жанре. Благодаря аналитическому подходу к изображению и нестандартным экспозиционным решениям, он актуализирует этот жанр для современного зрителя.

 

Вдохновленные первозданностью и мифологичной красотой французского лазурного берега, эти работы можно отнести к традиционному жанру пейзажа. Изображенный с ремесленной точностью путь от мастерской художника к берегу отсылает зрителя к живописи немецких романтиков и художников золотого века французской живописи. Однако повторяя многократно мотив тропы в работах, Елизаров не столько ей любуется, сколько на ее примере демонстрирует механизм формирования зрительного восприятия художника.

 

Благодаря рекурсии, он обнаруживает перед зрителем пространственные отношения внутри живописной работы, вскрывая таким образом если не технику, то технологию живописного мастерства.

 

Алекс Корси, куратор: «Служение ремеслу, профессиональный арсенал художественных навыков, формальная точность — все это может открыть новую свободу художественного высказывания. Вернув на территорию искусства проблематику живописи, художник может найти себя на территории, защищенной от поверхностного копирования рынком. Ведь нет ничего сложнее, чем скопировать хорошую живопись — для этого придется сделать хорошую живопись».

каталог