VISIONS

Victoria Kosheleva & Yulia Iosilzon

29.07.2017 – 13.08.2017

Triumph Gallery, Moscow

curator

Sofya Simakova

As a part of the exhibition series Launchpad, Triumph Gallery launches the project of Yulia Iosilzon and Victoria Kosheleva called Visions. Both artists received art education abroad: after graduating Surikov Moscow State Academic Art Institute, Victoria had an intership at the Parsons School of Design (New York), and Yulia, graduated from The Slade School of Fine Arts (UCL Slade, London) and entered afterwards the Royal College of Art (London).

 

Victoria Kosheleva and Yulia Iosilzon practice oil painting, despite the fact that a medium painting is not popular among young artists. They turn to the traditions of the Leipzig school and the figurative painting of Neo Rauch and Rosa Loy, as well as to the artists of the so-called London school, such as Ron China, Lucien Freud, Francis Bacon and others.

 

The artists often transfer the subjects of their memories to their works. For Victoria Kosheleva the memory is a stream of personal memories and feelings that develop into a surreal kaleidoscope on the surface of the picture. Yulia Iosilzon refers to a different aspect of memory, meaning nostalgia, collective memory. The characters of her works resemble to some cartoon characters familiar to everyone since childhood. The Visions exhibition by Iosilzon and Kosheleva immerses the viewer in a familiar and perhaps a little forgotten emotional state, reminiscent of deja vu.

 

Sofia Simakova, curator of the exhibition says: "Contemporary art seeks to erase geographical and national boundaries; artists increasingly rely on global or private contexts. Julia and Victoria are concerned about the issue of personal geography: they seek to find their place in the outside world, they look deeper into themselves. Their canvases are honestly selfish, they offer the viewer only one point of view, but allow them to enter the world of their thoughts."

subscribe to the newsletter

tg.png
  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012, Moscow, Ilyinka St., 3/8, building 5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     daily from 11.00 – 20.00     |     free entrance

подпишитесь на рассылку

  • Серый Instagram Иконка
  • Серый Facebook Icon

109012  Москва, ул. Ильинка, 3/8, стр.5    |    +7 (495) 162 0893     |     info@triumph.gallery     |     ежедневно с 11.00 – 20.00     |     вход свободный

VISIONS

Виктория Кошелева, Юлия Иосильзон

29.07.2017 – 13.08.2017

Галерея «Триумф», Москва

куратор

Софья Симакова

В рамках цикла выставок «Launchpad» галерея «Триумф» представляет проект Юлии Иосильзон и Виктории Кошелевой «Visions». Обе художницы получили художественное образование за рубежом: после Института им. Сурикова Виктория прошла стажировку в Школе дизайна Парсонс (Нью-Йорк), а Юлия, закончив с отличием Школу изобразительных искусств Ф. Слейда (UCL Slade, Лондон), поступила в Королевский колледж искусств (Лондон).

 

Виктория Кошелева и Юлия Иосильзон занимаются живописными практиками, несмотря на то, что этот медиум не является востребованным среди молодых художников. Они обращаются к традициями Лейпцигской школы и фигуративной живописи Нео Рауха и Розы Лой, а также к художникам так называемой «Лондонской школы» среди которых: Рон Китай, Люсьен Фрейд, Френсис Бэкон и другие.

 

Художницы часто переносят в работы сюжеты своих воспоминаний. Для Виктории Кошелевой память — это поток личных воспоминаний и ощущений, складывающихся в сюрреалистичный калейдоскоп на поверхности картины. Юлия Иосильзон обращается к другому аспекту памяти — ностальгии, памяти коллективной. Персонажи ее работ напоминают героев мультфильмов, знакомых каждому c детства. «Видения» Иосильзон и Кошелевой погружают зрителя в знакомое и, возможно, немного забытое эмоциональное состояние, напоминающее дежа-вю.

 

Софья Симакова, куратор выставки: «Современное искусство стремится к стиранию географических и национальных границ; художники всё чаще опираются на глобальный или частный контексты. Юлию и Викторию волнует вопрос личной географии: чтобы найти свое место во внешнем мире они заглядывают всё глубже в себя. Их полотна по-честному эгоистичны, они предлагают зрителю только одну точку зрения, но позволяют ему войти в мир своих мыслей».